Baker Library | Bloomberg Center

Broadcasting Industry

Company Directories & Rankings

OneSource
(Baker Library or current HBS)
Includes a breakdown of narrower and related industry segments for motion pictures, a list of top industry participants, recent market research reports, and industry norms.
Tip: Create a targeted list by using the Find function and limit by industry using the SIC codes 4833, 4841 for television broadcasting stations and cable and other pay TV services, then limit by location and size.

CareerSearch
(Baker Library or current HBS)
Online company directory covering a wide range of industries.
Tip: Create a targeted list by selecting broadcast media organizations/television stations and/or cable television companies from the alphabetical list of industry categories, then limit by location and size.

Standard Rate and Data Service Television and Cable Source
Provides information on all broadcast, cable, syndicated, and alternative television advertising opportunities arranged by Designated Market Areas (DMA). Each DMA profile includes market demographics, commercial TV stations, noncommercial TV stations, cable representatives, interconnects and cable systems, and regional cable networks. Helps identify where to advertise and to find outlets that meet particular needs.

Television & Cable Factbook Online
(Current HBS only)
TV market rankings, programming carried, fees for installation and monthly service, full programming service, executives' names and titles, franchise fees, system start dates, franchise, and expiration dates. The Ownership section contains entries for more than 1400 MSOs. The Media Services section includes details on key industry organizations and suppliers.

World Radio TV Handbook: Directory of Global Broadcasting
Billboard Books, published annually
Ref. TK6540 .W67
Three focus areas: Features lists equipment reviews, broadcasting predictions and radio-related articles; Directory is further divided into National Radio, International Radio, and TV services; Country—each entry includes local time, principal language, population, number of radio sets, contact information of the government agency administering broadcasting, and station listings.

 
 
Baker Library | Bloomberg Center, Harvard Business School, Soldiers Field, Boston, MA 02163 , 617-495-6040